Declutter

In the past, I used to buy more storage to accommodate the overflow of toiletries, tools (who am I kidding, I have a tiny Ikea tool kit), shoes, books etc. However, in the last few years, I’ve started to regularly declutter so that my things fit into the existing space I have.

Whether that’s giving things to friends and family, donating them to charity shops (my local ones are used to a regular delivery from me), throwing things away if they aren’t in good condition or holding swaps with friends.

Even the smallest space can tend to get a little cluttered and doing a small declutter can take as little as 10 minutes. Also see my recent posts Clearing Out and My Purse Is So Full.

For example, I used to have a crate which held my shower gels, deodorants, travel minis, moisturisers (notice the plurals). Even though I kept this to what I though was a minimum, I often had to rummage inside to find things, and was constantly tidying it.

I obviously had more than I needed.

So I decluttered said crate, here it is in pictures.

20170202_161831
At the start
20170202_163121
Way too many cosmetic bags!
20170202_164855
Out of date so thrown away

20170202_165005
Now to keep it tidy and to a minimum, it’s not just decluttering that has helped. I’ve stopped:

  • Buying extras. I don’t buy new toiletries like a shower gel or a deodorant, until I’m about a 3rd of the way through the one I am using, even if they are on special offer
  • Collecting hotel mini toiletries, or at least only take something if I know I’ll definitely use it for an upcoming trip or after swimming.
  • Accepting free samples just because they are free. A free shampoo sample I’ve wanted to try is great (as long as I try it). A free foundation sachet for a skin tone which is not my own is just silly. 

    The benefit is that I can now see what I need much more easily, and I’m more mindful about what I have.

If you have any decluttering stories, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

