10 Simple Ways to Lift Your Mood

I always pooh-poohed what people call the holiday blues. I usually come back from holidays refreshed, and motivated to organise the next one. Until last week.

After having the time of my life at a certain festival I promise not to over talk about in this post (whispers Glastonbury), I got back home and it’s fair to say I was in a bit of a funk.

After catching up on sleep, I just didn’t know what to do with myself. I was a combination of tired, and under excited (after all the over excitement).

I needed a pick me up. Something simple to lift my mood little by little, a bit of self-motivation.

A bit of an at home pamper evening did it for me so that I no longer looked like someone who had camping in a field for 5 days. It really did the trick.

If you ever feel like this for any reason, not just after a holiday, here are my 10 tips to lift your mood.

Do something you enjoy Read, draw, sing, dance, write. You’ll feel so much better and you’ll have accomplished something for the day.

Watch your favourite show/film I always choose something silly funny. Blades of Glory cracks me up every time!

Wear a favourite item Wear your favourite colour, that jacket that you always get complimented on, or wear all your diamonds at once!

Set a goal for the day – Make it realistic but something you can focus on and achieve.

Plan a trip – This could be to the cinema, a gig, to visit someone or a trip away. Whichever it is, it will get you a little excited as you will have something to look forward to.

Do something nice for someoneLet someone go ahead of you in a queue, give someone your seat, the surprise and smile on that person’s face will have an impact on you.

Pamper/groom yourselfLook good feel good, right? Go for that haircut, shave, manicure.

Tidy upIt’s not the most exciting thing to do, but the act of tidying (I find) helps to clear your mind a little.

Listen to musicNothing too maudling, just some feel good music ideally something you can dance to. You could even listen to music while tidying. Look at that, you are multi-tasking. Go you!

Go outside, see friendsJust getting some fresh air and/or interacting with your favourite people can make a difference.

See, you have control.

I’ll leave you with a quote: Don’t be a passenger in your own life, be the driver.

 

4 thoughts on “10 Simple Ways to Lift Your Mood

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

