In Your Own Time

Nature never rushes, yet everything gets done.
Donald L. Hicks, Look into the stillness

We’ve all done it, been running a little behind schedule and trying to do a million things at once. I try not to, but it still happens once in a while.

On Friday morning, I was getting dressed for work, I was a little behind and hadn’t organised my clothes the night before.
Just as I was about to leave, I  decided I wanted to take a perfume with me, and wear a different handbag and my not yet worn new shoes. No harm in that right? I just wanted to look nice.

I left the house and partway to the train station, I realised that I had left my travel-card at home in my other bag. (To give you some context, London travel is expensive, £215 a month expensive. This now meant that although I had paid in advance for my travel, I would have to pay my fare for the day again, around £13).
Annoyed as I was I thought ok, I can deal with that.

So on I went and almost slipped on my way to the train station (again some context, my new shoes had super smooth soles which I was supposed to make non slip in advance of wearing them). That was a close call…

The day went well, I finished work and went to meet friends for a birthday gathering. As we were walking to a bar, I slipped, falling backwards in the street, and landed on my back, my shoulders and head took the impact. Not good.

Once my friends had helped me up, checked I wasn’t bleeding and hadn’t broken anything I thought to myself, “had I not have been in such a rush this morning, none of this would have happened.”

The cost of rushing that day was:
– £13 extra on travel
– A big bump on the back of the head (I know, luckily it wasn’t worse)
– 3 of my precious Saturday lie-hours spent being checked up at the hospital
– The rest of my Saturday in bed dealing with the aches from the fall and sleeping off a headache

The moral of this story is…if something feels rushed, do it when you have more time. If it must be done now, make the time to do it properly.

2 thoughts on “In Your Own Time

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

