I’m a Worrier

I’m a natural worrier.

I worry about things that shouldn’t be worrying, and I worry when I have nothing to worry about, because I think there is something I should be worrying about.

From conversations I have had, there are more of you out there!

So, let me tell you a story… (It’s quick and relevant, I promise).

A few years ago, I completed a short Spanish course. After it ended, I really wanted to go to Spain so that I could practice what I had learned. None of my friends had time off work, so after mulling it over, I decided to go on a solo trip to Madrid for a few days.

Now don’t get me wrong, travelling alone is a big deal anyway, but let me tell you about how much worrying I did even though it was my own choice to book the trip:

What should I pack? What would the weather be like? What if I got lonely? What if I couldn’t remember any Spanish? What if I got lost? What if I didn’t like it? Was 3 days long enough? Was 3 days too long? How would I find my way from the airport to the hotel? What if I forgot my passport? What if I missed my plane, it went on and on and on.

What it came down to is I WAS SCARED. This felt like a huge thing for me to do, and I was scared. It’s a big thing for me to admit to, being scared, so I find all the things that could go wrong instead.

I spent so much time worrying and ignoring the fear, that I didn’t stop to think about the things I could do to ease some of the worry, which would make me feel less scared.

I’ve realised since then that when I worry a lot about a thing, it’s because I’m scared. Once I realise that, I then start to focus on taking action.

For example, let’s take the worries I had, and think about ways to reduce them:

  1. What should I pack? – Check the weather and decide accordingly
  2. What would the weather be like? – Check the forecast
  3. What if I got lonely? – I won’t know until I get there, take a good book just in case.
  4. What if I couldn’t remember any Spanish? – Get a phrase book in case I get stuck, and practice more beforehand.
  5. What if I got lost? – Get a map
  6. What if I didn’t like it? – I won’t know until I get there. If it’s that bad, have spare money for an earlier flight home
  7. Was 3 days long enough? – If it’s not, I can always visit again
  8. Was 3 days too long? – Then I’ll have more time to explore
  9. How would I find my way from the airport to the hotel? – Check online information or put money aside for a taxi
  10. What if I forgot my passport? – Well if this happens, none of the above will matter…I joke…Make a list and double check before leaving.

Do you know what, I had a great time and it’s one of the best things I ever did!

Now I know sometimes we have things going on in our lives that are much, much bigger than what I have shared today, but the point I am making is that in the instances where we have some control, we should be thinking about what we can do (and doing them) to lessen the worry.

I hope you liked this post.

If you’d like to hear more of my stories (relevant ones of course), or if you prefer just cutting to the chase and seeing tips, tips and lots of them, let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

